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640-X-9-.01  Parole Violations.  A probation and parole officer who 
has received information indicating that a parolee under his or her 
supervision may have violated a condition of parole shall  investigate the 
alleged violation in a timely manner. The thoroughness of the 
investigation shall  be proportionate to the seriousness of the alleged 
violation. The officer should make a preliminary determination of the 
seriousness of the charges. Appropriate violation responses should be 
used or recommended by the supervising officer, including non-
confinement-based as well as confinement-based sanctions in accordance 
with the Agency’s Supervision Response Matrix. The Supervision 
Response Matrix is not a public record. If the officer believes no further 
action is required, he or she may report the investigation in the “Notice of 
Violation” format to Field Operations.  
Authors:  Meridith H. Barnes, Laura B. Mest, Greg Locklier. 
Statutory Authority:  Code of Ala. 1975, §§ 15-22-21, 37, 57. 
History: New Rule: Filed January 21, 2020; Effective: March 16, 2020. 
 

640-X-9-.02  Confinement-based Sanctions (“Dips”) and 
Revocation Caps (“Dunks”).  

(1) Confinement-based sanctions (“dips”) for parole violations 
may be imposed by the Board or the supervising probation and parole 
officer in accordance with applicable law. If the violation at issue is 
appropriate for a 2-3 day period of confinement (“dip”), such will be 
imposed by the supervising officer with approval from the officer’s 
supervisor after the parole violator signs an appropriate waiver form, 
approved by the Agency, giving notice of the specific violation charges 



   

alleged by the supervising officer and those rights defined by Alabama 
law. The parole violator, the supervising officer, and the supervisor of the 
supervising officer all  must sign the waiver in order for it  to be effective 
under law. The waiver must specify the number of days of confinement 
that will  be imposed and the date/time of release. No further delinquency 
action will follow on a “dip” and the signed and completed waiver form 
will be adequate documentation to accompany a violator presented by the 
supervising officer to the local jail .  The same form will serve as sufficient 
documentation for the violator to be released back to supervision as of a 
date/time specified on the form. However, the supervising officer shall  
monitor the “dipped” parole violator while serving the confinement-based 
sanction and coordinate the release of the parole violator back to 
supervision with local jail  officials. 

 
(2) The supervising officer’s authority to impose “dips” is 

limited to 2-3 days at a time, no more than 6 days per month, and not 
more than 18 days for the parolee’s supervision term.  

 
(3) Should a parole violator refuse a “dip,” Alabama law allows 

for the violator to request a Parole Court hearing within ten (10) days of 
refusal.  In such event,  or if  the nature of the violation is more appropriate 
for full  revocation, Rule 640-X-9-.03 procedures will apply, subject to 
statutory revocation caps (“dunks”).  

 
(4) Alabama law requires that three (3) periods of confinement be 

imposed by the Board on all parole violations of up to 45 days (“dunks”) 
before the Board may revoke parole unless the parole violator’s current 
offense for which he/she is being supervised is a violent Class A or sex 
offense or if  the charged parole violator was arrested, convicted, or 
absconded. “Absconding” shall  be defined as willfully avoiding 
supervision or by willfully making the parolee’s whereabouts unknown to 
the supervising parole officer. 

 
(5) The Board may not exceed three (3) “dunks.” However, the 

Board holds authority, itself, to directly impose unlimited short periods of 
confinement of up to three (3) days (“dips”). Moreover, Alabama law 
provides that the Board may revoke the parole violator’s balance of the 
original sentence or any or any portion thereof, calculated from the date 
of delinquency. 
Authors:  Meridith H. Barnes, Laura B. Mest, Greg Locklier. 
Statutory Authority:  Code of Ala. 1975, §§ 15-22-21, 29, 32, 37. 
History: New Rule: Filed January 21, 2020; Effective: March 16, 2020. 
 
 
640-X-9-.03  Parole Revocation.  The following process shall  govern 
parole revocation, leading up to Parole Court: 



   

 
(a) In pursuit of revocation and subject to statutory revocation 

caps (“dunks”), whether outright or in the event a “dip” is refused by the 
parole violator, the parole officer, after investigating the alleged violation 
and determining that the allegations are well founded, shall submit a 
written report in the “Report of Parole Violation” format, to the Field 
Operations Division, the Revocation Unit,  the regional Parole Court 
Hearing Officer, and the parole violator.  

 
(b) The submission of the Report of Parole Violation shall  

initiate the Parole Court Hearing process. The parolee shall be directed to 
appear before the Parole Court for an evidentiary hearing.  
 

(c) If the parole officer has reason to believe that the public 
would be endangered or that the parolee would abscond supervision if left 
at liberty, pending further action, he or she may issue an “authorization to 
arrest” writ  and cause the parolee to be held in the local county jail .  The 
officer submitting the report shall  coordinate with the regional Parole 
Court Hearing Officer to schedule Parole Court and must do so within 
seventy-two (72) hours of any arrest.  This hearing must occur within 
twenty (20) business days from receipt of notice from the Department of 
Corrections of the return of the parole violator to custody or the 
individual will  be released from custody pending his/her Parole Court 
hearing. 

 
(d) The Field Operations Division will review notices and reports 

of parole violation when received from the field officer through the 
supervisory chain of command. Field Operations will  determine whether 
there is reasonable cause to believe the parolee has violated the terms of 
parole in an important respect and whether the violation is sufficiently 
serious to warrant referral to the Board for declaration of delinquency. 
Declarations of delinquency shall be docketed for the Board’s 
consideration on a weekly basis by Field Operations unless the Board has 
no regularly scheduled meetings during a particular week. 

 
(e) Field Operations shall  notify the Department of Corrections 

of the date the Board declares a parolee delinquent.   
 
(f) Field Operations shall  also determine whether the alleged 

violation is sufficiently serious to authorize the Department of 
Corrections to issue a fugitive warrant. If so, notice authorizing the 
issuance of a fugitive warrant by the Department of Corrections shall be 
promptly transmitted. 

 
(g) If at any time prior to the Parole Court hearing, the 

investigating officer needs to supplement the Report  of Parole Violation, 



   

and/or Field Operations directs modification or supplementation of the 
report, a supplemental/corrected report must be recirculated to Field 
Operations, the Hearing Officer, and the parole violator. Field Operations 
will,  in turn, be responsible for forwarding any supplemental/corrected 
report to the Board. 
 

(h) The decision whether to incarcerate the parolee pending 
Parole Court may be reconsidered at any point in the revocation process. 
The Board retains jurisdiction to reconsider whether to enter or void a 
declaration of delinquency at any point in the process. 

 
(i) The Parole Court hearing may occur prior to the decision to 

refer the charges to the Board for declaration of delinquency and/or prior 
to the decision to authorize the Department of Corrections to issue a 
fugitive warrant. 
Authors:  Meridith H. Barnes, Laura B. Mest, Greg Locklier. 
Statutory Authority:  Code of Ala. 1975, §§ 15-22-21, 36, 37. 
History: New Rule:  Filed January 21, 2020; Effective: March 16, 2020. 

 

640-X-9-.04  Parole Court Hearing.  The procedure for conducting 
Parole Court shall  be as follows: 

(a) Designated Parole Court Hearing Officers hold Parole Court 
and determine the facts pertaining to alleged parole violations. These 
Hearing Officers are authorized to determine whether the parolee is guilty 
of alleged violations as well  as to determine whether there is probable 
cause to detain the parolee pending final resolution of the charges.  

 
(b) At the Parole Court hearing, the Hearing Officer will decide 

whether parole violation charges are proven, evidence in mitigation and/or 
aggravation will be heard, and the Hearing Officer will  determine whether 
it  is appropriate to detain the parolee pending the Board’s decision. The 
Hearing Officer may also determine whether probable cause exists to 
detain the parolee and continue the hearing until  a later date for 
determination of guilt .  The evidence taken at the Parole Court hearing 
may be considered in the determination of guilt .  If there is no reasonable 
cause to detain the parolee pending further hearing, the Board shall  be 
promptly notified in writing.  

 
(c) The investigating or charging officer shall  provide the 

parolee with a copy of the Report or Notice containing the charges of 
violation prior to or contemporaneously with notice of the date, t ime, and 
place of Parole Court if the parolee is incarcerated. If the parolee is not 
incarcerated, the officer may deliver those documents by U.S. Mail,  
addressed to the parolee’s address of record (as reflected in the parole 



   

officer’s supervision notes).  The officer serving these papers shall return 
a written certificate of service to the Revocation Unit.  

 
(d) The Hearing Officer may accept a knowing, intelligent guilty 

plea to parole violation charges. Before doing so, the Hearing Officer 
shall  read the specific charges to the parolee and explain the rights he/she 
waives by entering a plea. The Hearing Officer shall not accept a guilty 
plea unless the parolee does, in fact,  acknowledge violation of the 
conditions of parole. The Hearing Officer shall document the facts 
admitted to by the parolee and have the parolee sign the acknowledgement 
of guilt .  

 
(e) The parolee is responsible for notifying his or her legal 

counsel and witnesses of the date, t ime, and place of the Parole Court 
hearing. He or she is also responsible for forwarding a copy of the 
charges to legal counsel.  Bureau staff may assist  in contacting counsel or 
witnesses as a courtesy to the parolee and may provide copies of the 
charges or other documents pertaining to Parole Court to the parolee’s 
legal counsel. Documents will be served on the parolee, either by personal 
service or U.S. Mail to provide reasonable notice of the charges and 
proceedings. 

 
(f) The Parole Court Hearing Officer may exercise reasonable 

discretion if any party requests a continuance of a hearing. The entire 
hearing may be rescheduled or the Parole Court may hear such evidence as 
is available and continue the hearing for further evidence, as may best 
serve the ends of justice. If the parolee requests a continuance and the 
continuance is denied, the Parole Court should enter into the record the 
request,  the stated grounds for the request,  and the reasons for denying 
the request. 

 
(g) The Hearing Officer shall preside over the hearing and govern 

its conduct. The Hearing Officer shall  ensure that the record accurately 
reflects all  necessary notices and compliance with all procedural 
safeguards. Witnesses may appear and present testimony by video 
conference.  

 
(h) The charging officer or his or her designee shall  present the 

case of the alleged parole violations and may question any witness. The 
officer may testify in narrative format if he or she is a competent witness 
to any issue. 

 
(i) The parolee shall be allowed to present evidence in his or her 

own defense. The parolee’s witnesses shall be subject to cross-
examination. The parolee shall be allowed to cross-examine accusing 
witnesses, unless the Hearing Officer specifically finds good cause to 



   

believe the witness would be endangered by confrontation. If 
confrontation is disallowed, the Hearing Officer will  make reasonable 
efforts to balance the parolee’s need for cross-examination.  

 
(j) The Hearing Officer may question any witnesses and should 

permit each side to ask follow-up questions.  
 
(k) The Hearing Officer may exercise reasonable discretion to 

disallow or limit any question that seeks to elicit  information not 
pertinent to the issues or tending towards abuse or harassment. The 
Hearing Officer should include in the record any questions disallowed and 
the reason(s) for the ruling.  

 
(l) For purposes of determining whether probable cause exists, 

the Hearing Officer may consider any relevant information, including 
hearsay. For purposes of determining guilt ,  the Hearing Officer shall  
consider any evidence that would be admissible under either the Alabama 
Rules of Evidence or the Federal Rules of Evidence. The Hearing Officer 
may also consider any other evidence, including hearsay, that appears to 
be reliable and probative, but may not determine guilt  based solely upon 
hearsay evidence. Commonly accepted treatises on evidence, including 
Gamble’s, McElroy’s, Wigmore’s, and McCormick’s should be considered 
persuasive authority for determining the admissibility of evidence. The 
Hearing Officer must state the evidence relied upon in making his/her 
determination.  

 
(m)  The Parole Court shall  allow the parolee great leeway in 

presenting mitigating information. For purposes of mitigation, the Hearing 
Officer shall  consider any information offered by the parolee. Any 
objections shall go to the weight of the evidence and not to its 
admissibility.  

 
(n) The Hearing Officer may take judicial notice of conditions of 

parole imposed by the Board or by another state pursuant to the Interstate 
Compact.  The parolee may introduce evidence that he or she was not 
aware of a condition. The Hearing Officer shall  take judicial notice of the 
laws of the State of Alabama. In the absence of proof to the contrary, the 
Hearing Officer may rely on a copy of a municipal ordinance or of a 
statute of another jurisdiction as evidence of the law in that jurisdiction. 
The Hearing Officer may presume, in the absence of proof to the contrary, 
that each municipality in Alabama has adopted an ordinance incorporating 
the penal provisions of the Alabama Code into its municipal law. The 
Hearing Officer may accept a certified copy of a judgment of conviction 
as conclusive evidence that the parolee is guilty of violating a law, 
provided that,  in the case of a conviction in municipal court or district  



   

court,  the time for appealing to circuit court for trial de novo has run 
before the certification was issued.  

 
(o) The Hearing Officer may determine that a parolee is guilty of 

violating a law, but that the offense was less than that named in the 
delinquency report.  The Hearing Officer may also determine that a parolee 
is guilty of violating a law other than that named in the delinquency 
report,  if  the report provided fair notice to the parolee of the wrongful 
conduct at issue.  

 
(p) If the parolee has not been incarcerated pending the Parole 

Court hearing, the Parole Court shall  determine whether incarceration is 
appropriate pending the Board’s final decision. 
Authors:  Meridith H. Barnes, Laura B. Mest, Greg Locklier. 
Statutory Authority:  Code of Ala. 1975, §§ 15-22-21, 32, 37. 
History: New Rule:  Filed January 21, 2020; Effective: March 16, 2020. 
 

640-X-9-.05  Parole Court Reports.  Subsequent to conducting 
Parole Court, the Hearing Officer shall  compose a Parole Court report for 
the Board, subject to the following: 

 
(a) The Parole Court report shall contain written findings of fact.  

The report shall state what evidence was relied upon in reaching 
conclusions. The report shall clearly state whether each charge was 
proven. If the parolee is found guilty of violating the terms of parole, the 
Hearing Officer shall  also include in his or her report a detailed 
assessment of the mitigating and/or aggravating circumstances.  

 
(b) The Hearing Officer’s report shall address applicable 

statutory limitations, i .e. ,  whether statutory revocation caps (“dunks”) 
apply. 

 
(c) The Revocation Unit shall serve a copy of the Hearing 

Officer’s report on the parolee and place a copy of the certificate of 
service in the parolee’s fi le.   

 
(d) The Hearing Officer’s written report is the official record of 

the Parole Court hearing.  
 
(e) If no charges are proven to the reasonable satisfaction of the 

Hearing Officer, the Revocation Unit shall  prepare a draft  order for the 
Board’s signature, directing withdrawal of any warrant issued by any 
authority of the Agency. The draft order and Hearing Officer’s report 
shall  be placed in the parolee’s file to be presented to the Board for action 
by the most expeditious means. 

 



   

(f) A parolee who has been accused of a specific violation after 
the charge is found “not proven” at Parole Court shall not have parole 
revoked for that violation, unless the charge is subsequently proven in a 
subsequent evidentiary hearing or unless he or she is convicted of an 
underlying criminal charge.  

 
(g) If the parolee is found guilty of any charge, the Hearing 

Officer’s report shall be filed with the Revocations Unit,  which will 
present the Parole Court report and recommendation of the Hearing 
Officer to the Board as soon as practicable.  

 
(h) The Revocation Unit and the supervising officer shall be 

responsible for tracking the number of “dunks” imposed on each parolee.  
Authors:  Meridith H. Barnes, Laura B. Mest, Greg Locklier. 
Statutory Authority:  Code of Ala. 1975, §§ 15-22-21, 32, 37. 
History: New Rule:  Filed January 21, 2020; Effective: March 21, 2020. 

 

640-X-9-.06  Board Action Subsequent to Parole Court.   
 

(1) The Board shall consider Parole Court dockets during 
regularly scheduled open public meetings. After consideration of the 
Parole Court report, the Board shall  decide whether to continue parole, 
reinstate parole, impose an up-to-45-day period of confinement (“dunk”) 
or other sanction, or revoke parole. The Board will  only consider 
revocation on charges proven to the reasonable satisfaction of the Parole 
Court. However, the Board may remand any charge for further hearing.  

 
(2) Any Board order “dunking” or revoking parole shall  state the 

reasons for revocation and shall refer to the evidence relied upon in 
determining that revocation is appropriate. 

 
(3) If the Board is inclined to reinstate parole, the case may be 

continued pending verification of a home and job plan or the Board may 
reinstate parole supervision contingent upon verification of a home and 
job plan, withholding notification of reinstatement to the Department of 
Corrections pending verification of the same.  

 
(4) If the Board is of the opinion that the interests of justice will  

be served by remanding a case for further hearing, either to ensure that 
the parolee has received due process or to ensure that society is properly 
served by a more thorough fact-finding process, such proceedings shall  be 
conducted as promptly as may be practicable. 

 
(5) The Board retains jurisdiction to reconsider any revocation 

matter that they may later determine to have been improvidently ordered.  
 



   

(6) The Revocation Unit shall notify the Department of 
Corrections of any order “dunking” or revoking parole or returning a 
parolee to parole supervision within five (5) business days of Board 
action. 

 
(7) The Revocation Unit shall ensure Field Operations receives 

copies of any necessary dockets, orders, and records. 
Authors:  Meridith H. Barnes, Laura B. Mest, Greg Locklier. 
Statutory Authority:  Code of Ala. 1975, §§ 15-22-21, 32, 37. 
History: New Rule:  Filed January 21, 2020; Effective: March 16, 2020. 
 




